Public company intelligence · evidence-bound public brief
Intel CorporationNASDAQ: INTC
Santa Clara, California, U.S. · Industrial, electronics & aerospace · Semiconductors & batteries
Intel's material-transition lane is a semiconductor manufacturing system, not a generic waste story: ultrapure water, process chemistry, construction materials and precious-metal-bearing scrap all have to clear fab-quality and recovery controls. Its 2025 Form 10-K says Intel uses fresh and reclaimed water, evaluates waste-upcycling technologies and continues circular-economy work, but does not disclose a public material-grade substitution lane.
Intel's 2025 Form 10-K describes ultrapure water as essential to wafer manufacturing, fresh and reclaimed water in facility systems, and continued work to recover and reuse waste through segregation and supplier technologies. The filing also ties executive and employee performance bonuses to the 95% renewable-electricity target achieved at the end of 2025. Public disclosure does not establish one fab, chemical stream, recovery yield, reclaim specification or approved re-entry route.
Top material flows in
- Ultrapure water and specialty process chemicals (acids, solvents, photoresists) at wafer fabs
- Silicon wafers, copper, tungsten and cobalt for interconnect and packaging (directional, sector-level)
- Specialty gases and slurries used in chemical-mechanical planarization (directional)
Top waste & residual flows
- 14.7M lb of TRI-listed chemical waste managed across 6 matched U.S. facility leads (2024)
- Directional residual classes: spent solvents and acids, metal-bearing sludges, wafer/die scrap, electronic scrap
Who controls the physical system
Parent → legal entity → owner → operator → plant, as resolved from public filings.
- Legal entity
- Intel Corporation (Delaware corporation), NASDAQ: INTC
- Headquarters
- Santa Clara, California
- Key U.S. fabs
- Chandler, Arizona (Ocotillo campus, Intel 18A ramped to high-volume manufacturing in 2025) · New Albany, Ohio (under construction, pace slowed on demand/capex reassessment)
- Operating status
- Owned and operated, both named sites are company fabs, per Intel and trade-press reporting
Financial scale
Scale proxies only, not raw-material purchasing volume unless stated.
- Ticker / CIK
- INTC / SEC CIK 0000050863
- FY2025 revenue
- $52.9B, flat year-over-year (reported, FY2025 earnings release)
- Arizona (18A)
- Ramped to high-volume manufacturing in 2025, Intel's most advanced U.S. process node
- Ohio (New Albany)
- Construction pace slowed as Intel reassessed demand and capital expenditure
Physical system, in plain terms
Semiconductor fabrication is a physically distinct system from every other account in this batch: silicon wafers move through hundreds of photolithography, etch, deposition and planarization steps, consuming enormous volumes of ultrapure water and specialty process chemicals, acids, solvents, photoresists, and slurries, while depositing copper, tungsten and cobalt interconnects onto the wafer. The residual streams are correspondingly specific: spent solvents and acids requiring hazardous-waste handling, metal-bearing sludges and slurries with reclaimable precious- and specialty-metal content, and wafer or die scrap. Intel's Arizona campus, now running its most advanced 18A process at high volume, and its slower-paced Ohio buildout are the two U.S. sites most likely to generate this profile at scale.
Production footprint and plant evidence
| Site | Location | Role / evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Ocotillo campus | Chandler, Arizona, U.S. | Owned and operated. Intel 18A process ramped to high-volume manufacturing in 2025, Intel's leading-edge U.S. node. |
| New Albany fab (under construction) | New Albany, Ohio, U.S. | Owned and operated, construction stage. Completion pace slowed as Intel reassessed demand and capital spending. |
| 6 TRI-matched U.S. facility leads (account total) | United States, multiple states | Facility names, addresses and top listed chemical are not broken out for this account in the source captured for this brief. |
This account's TRI match returned an account-level total (6 facility leads, 14.7M lb) without the per-facility name/top-chemical breakdown available for other public source coverage in this folder, a genuine data gap in the current source set, not a rounding choice.
Materials and packaging entering the system
| Material / input | Family | Evidence status |
|---|---|---|
| Ultrapure water and process chemicals | Fab process inputs | Directional, standard semiconductor-fab input class; not itemized per Intel facility in public sources |
| Copper, tungsten, cobalt | Interconnect and packaging metals | Directional, sector-standard input; Intel-specific volumes not public |
| Silicon wafers | Substrate | Directional, sector-standard input; sourcing and volume not itemized |
Products and product families
| Product / segment | End market | Evidence status |
|---|---|---|
| 18A process node chips | Data center, client compute, foundry customers | Product family identified; SKU-level detail not public in this brief |
| Foundry services (Intel Foundry) | External semiconductor customers | Segment identified per company disclosure; customer-level detail not public |
Process and conversion
Wafer fabrication cycles a silicon wafer through lithography, etch, deposition, ion implantation and chemical-mechanical planarization dozens to hundreds of times, each pass consuming and generating a distinct chemical stream. The output of this process is not waste in the conventional sense: spent slurries and etch chemistries can carry reclaimable copper, tungsten and precious-metal content that established specialty recyclers (e.g., precious-metal refiners) already process for the industry. No Intel-specific process step, yield, or residual-stream volume is published at the facility level in the sources captured for this brief.
Waste, residuals and current disposition, 2024 U.S. TRI
| TRI metric | Quantity (lb) | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Total TRI-listed chemical waste managed | 14,744,326 | 2024, 6 TRI-matched facility leads (account total only, no sub-category breakdown available) |
TRI-listed chemical scope only; not total industrial waste, landfill tonnage, or verified saleable material. Matched to the 2024 reporting year via facility name and address; ownership at the matched facility is not independently re-verified in this brief. Source: EPA TRI Basic Data Files, 1987, present.
Regulatory position
- RCRA hazardous-waste generator rules apply to spent fab chemistries (acids, solvents); Intel's generator classification is not itemized in this brief.
- TSCA and PFAS-related scrutiny is increasingly relevant to semiconductor process chemistries industry-wide; no Intel-specific PFAS finding is confirmed here (2024 TRI PFAS-form count for this account was not captured in the source used for this brief).
- RoHS and REACH apply to exported electronics and components; export and chain-of-custody controls are also relevant given the strategic-technology status of advanced semiconductor manufacturing.
Certification and standards signals
- ISO 14001 environmental management is standard across large semiconductor manufacturers industry-wide; no Intel-specific certificate number or facility scope is verified in this brief.
- R2 or e-Stewards certification is the relevant standard where electronics/component recycling scope applies; no Intel-specific certificate is verified here.
Innovation, pilots and announced capacity
- Intel 18A ramped to high-volume manufacturing at the Arizona campus in 2025, the account's clearest confirmed operating-capacity signal (Reported).
- Ohio fab construction pace slowed as Intel reassessed demand and capital expenditure, a capacity-timeline signal, not a cancellation (Reported).
- No Intel-specific precious-metal reclaim, water-reuse, or specialty-chemical recovery program is confirmed at a named U.S. site in this brief.
Potential offtakers and receiving markets
- Precious-metal refiners and specialty-chemical reclaimers are the established buyer class for semiconductor-fab residuals industry-wide (Potential class only, no named Intel buyer relationship is public).
- Solvent and acid recyclers, and approved hazardous-waste treatment operators, are the standard secondary destination for spent fab chemistries (Potential class only).
Material transition opportunity
Establish facility-level waste-stream evidence before any reclaim pitch
Intel is a real, large, and physically distinct opportunity class, semiconductor fabs are among the most chemically and metallurgically specific waste generators in this universe, but this account currently has the thinnest evidence base of the five in this brief. The account-level TRI match (6 facilities, 14.7M lb) confirms scale without confirming a single chemical identity, concentration, or recovery yield. Given Intel's active Arizona ramp, the fastest path to real evidence is a facility-level records request or a public environmental-permit pull for the Chandler campus, not outreach based on the account-level total alone.
Next action: Pull Arizona (Maricopa County) and Ohio (Licking County) environmental permits for Intel's named fabs to identify specific listed chemicals and disposition routes before any reclaim conversation.
Sources
- Intel Reports Fourth-Quarter and Full-Year 2025 Financial Resultshttps://www.intc.com/news-events/press-releases/detail/1759/intel-reports-fourth-quarter-and-full-year-2025-financial
- Intel Corp, Form 10-K, FY2025https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/50863/000005086326000011/intc-20251227.htm
- Intel Corporation company facts (XBRL)https://data.sec.gov/api/xbrl/companyfacts/CIK0000050863.json
- TRI Basic Data Files, Calendar Years 1987---Presenthttps://www.epa.gov/toxics-release-inventory-tri-program/tri-basic-data-files-calendar-years-1987-present
Evidence manifest
View machine-readable claim manifest (JSON)
{
"artifact": {
"artifact_id": "ART-INTC-0916",
"canonical_company_name": "Intel Corporation",
"as_of_date": "2026-09-16",
"mode": "public",
"artifact_readiness": "Research draft, source closure required",
},
"claims": [
{
"claim_id": "CLM-INTC-0001",
"claim_text": "Intel FY2025 revenue was $52.9 billion, flat year-over-year.",
"claim_type": "reported",
"entity_id": "ENT-INTC",
"evidence_strength": "A",
"confidence": "High",
"source_ids": [
"SRC-INTC-01"
],
"freshness_status": "current",
"rights_status": "public_reuse"
},
{
"claim_id": "CLM-INTC-0002",
"claim_text": "Intel 18A process ramped to high-volume manufacturing in Arizona in 2025.",
"claim_type": "reported",
"entity_id": "ENT-INTC",
"site_id": "SITE-INTC-AZ",
"evidence_strength": "B",
"confidence": "Medium",
"source_ids": [
"SRC-INTC-01"
],
"freshness_status": "current",
"rights_status": "public_reuse"
},
{
"claim_id": "CLM-INTC-0003",
"claim_text": "6 U.S. facility leads matched to Intel in the 2024 TRI reporting year, totaling 14,744,326 lb of listed-chemical waste managed.",
"claim_type": "observed",
"entity_id": "ENT-INTC",
"evidence_strength": "C",
"confidence": "Low",
"source_ids": [
"SRC-INTC-04"
],
"freshness_status": "current",
"rights_status": "public_reuse",
"open_task_ids": [
"TASK-INTC-0001"
]
},
{
"claim_id": "CLM-INTC-0004",
"claim_text": "Facility-level chemical identity, concentration and recovery yield for Intel's TRI-matched sites are not publicly disclosed in the source set used for this brief.",
"claim_type": "not_found",
"entity_id": "ENT-INTC",
"evidence_strength": "D",
"confidence": "Low",
"source_ids": [],
"freshness_status": "unknown",
"rights_status": "public_reuse",
"open_task_ids": [
"TASK-INTC-0002"
]
}
]
}
Decision memo
First action: this account needs a facility-level records pull before it needs an outreach conversation. Intel's scale and Arizona ramp are confirmed; the specific chemical identity and volume behind its 6 TRI-matched facility leads are not. Close that gap before naming a first decision.
Current source · 2025 Form 10-K
Intel Corporation, official filing. Added in the September 2026 evidence refresh. The source supports the bounded company-specific signal above and does not establish a buyer, supply agreement, ownership, operating control or customer qualification by itself.
Open source →Current source · Natural capital
Intel, official annual-report disclosure. Added in the September 2026 evidence refresh. The source supports the bounded company-specific signal above and does not establish a buyer, supply agreement, ownership, operating control or customer qualification by itself.
Open source →