What Kimberly-Clark converts, ships, and diverts.
One working view of Kimberly-Clark's fiber and nonwoven product lines, tissue-mill footprint, and its own published fiber and recycling commitments.
Company flow
Public evidence, arranged around the physical system rather than the corporate org chart.
Feedstock & input family
Not publicly disclosed at parent level in this source set. Directional sector family only: packaging, fiber, aluminum, polymers, ingredients, personal
Public category signalPersonal Care
Huggies, Kotex, and Depend, diapers, feminine care, and adult incontinence products built on superabsorbent-polymer and nonwoven fiber core
Company described3 public product families
Huggies / Kotex / Depend, Kleenex / Scott / Cottonelle, and 1 more described lines.
Company describedListed-chemical streams
658K lb managed in 2024 TRI records across 5 matched facility leads.
Listed-chemical viewSegment breakdown
Regulatory watchlist
Certification families to check
Products leaving the system
Publicly described product families and segments define Kimberly-Clark's outward material flow.
Huggies / Kotex / Depend
Diaper, feminine-care, and incontinence products built on superabsorbent polymer and nonwoven fiber.
Kleenex / Scott / Cottonelle
Tissue and towel products manufactured at fiber mills including Owensboro, KY and Loudon, TN, two of the three named TRI leads.
K-C Professional wipers & PPE
Commercial nonwoven wiping and protective-equipment products, the direct input stream to the RightCycle recycling program.
Product and application signal
Materials entering Kimberly-Clark's system
Directional material-family signal, matched against the company's public segment structure and TRI-listed chemical evidence.
| Material family | Public signal | Transition lens |
|---|---|---|
| Not publicly disclosed at parent level in this source set | Directional sector family | Substitution, origin resilience, recycled or bio-based content |
| Top TRI-listed chemical: Nitrate compounds (water-dissociable) | TRI-verified, 2024 | Owensboro, KY is the largest of three named leads at 370.5K lb, followed by Loudon, TN and Jenks, OK, all reporting nitrate compounds as the top chemical, consistent with wastewater treatment at fiber-processing mills rather than a core production input. |
| Recycled, bio-based, or recovered inputs | Public program signal | See Packaging and Opportunities tabs for named public programs |
Financial scale context
$4.08B reported revenue (Q4 2025 (see flag)) provides scale context for sourcing and waste opportunities. It is not a materials-spend measure.
Material transition focus
TRI-listed chemical stream is public; exact material mapping still requires facility and chemical review. Directional residual forms only: organic residuals, fiber sludge, wastewater residuals, trim, off-spec product, and packaging.
Packaging and circularity programs
Public circularity, recycling, and take-back signals connect Kimberly-Clark's product system to a packaging or materials transition pathway.
RightCycle Program
K-C Professional's RightCycle is described as the first large-scale recycling program for non-hazardous lab, cleanroom, and industrial waste, having diverted more than 1,600 metric tons of used PPE and other waste from landfill in North America since inception.
FSC-certified tissue fiber
Roughly 97% of Kimberly-Clark's towel and tissue products are FSC-certified, per the company's own forest-sourcing disclosures.
2030 Ambition, Natural Forest Free
Kimberly-Clark's public 2030 Ambition states an intent to be "Natural Forest Free" across its products beyond 2030, with an 87% environmentally preferred fiber rate already reported against a 90% 2025 milestone target.
Wastewater nitrate signal
Nitrate compounds, the TRI-reported top chemical at all three named mills, are a common effluent-treatment byproduct at pulp and tissue operations, consistent with the Clean Water Act effluent-guideline framework these mills operate under.
Packaging & circularity opportunities
Extend RightCycle to mill trim
ExploreApply K-C Professional's own proven nonwoven/PPE diversion model to nonwoven and superabsorbent-polymer trim generated at Owensboro, Loudon, and Jenks.
Fiber-certificate scope verification
Evidence firstConfirm FSC certificate numbers and mill-level scope behind the ~97% figure before citing it at a specific plant.
Reported residual streams
2024 TRI management categories for the matched U.S. parent record provide a consistent listed-chemical management view across Kimberly-Clark's U.S. facilities.
658K lb managed in 2024
Named public facility leads
Potential receiving markets
RightCycle-style specialty recyclers
The company's own K-C Professional program is a proven, named receiving system for nonwoven and PPE waste, the strongest evidenced offtaker class in this brief.
Recycled-fiber mills
A standing buyer class for tissue-mill trim and off-spec fiber, subject to source separation and chain-of-custody evidence.
Composters
Candidate receivers for organic residuals from fiber processing, subject to contamination and moisture limits.
Packaging converters
Downstream buyers for any qualified recycled-content packaging film or fiber board.
Highest-leverage public opportunities
These opportunity hypotheses connect Kimberly-Clark's public product, TRI, and circularity-program signals to specific material-transition pathways.
Extend RightCycle to consumer-tissue mills
Evidence firstRightCycle is already proven at 1,600+ metric tons diverted in K-C Professional; extending it to nonwoven/SAP trim at Owensboro, Loudon, and Jenks is a validation, not a new program.
- Trim-stream volume by mill
- RightCycle intake spec
- Program extension sign-off
FSC certificate-scope verification
Certificate checkConfirm the mills and product lines actually covered by the ~97% FSC figure before using it in a site-specific claim.
- Certificate number and holder
- Mill-level scope
- Expiry and registry check
TRI single-category gap closure
Data closureOnly on-site release is populated for this account; pulling facility-level TRI records would resolve whether the other four categories are genuinely zero or simply unreported.
- Facility-level TRI pull
- Category reconciliation
- Corrected public disclosure
Revenue-figure correction
Data quality n/aThe workbook's revenue field appears to be a single quarter, not FY2025 net sales, see the flag above. Not a transition opportunity, but a required correction before this account is used in outreach.
- 10-K net-sales confirmation
- Update source workbook
- Re-run financial-scale context
Priority opportunity
Public source trail
Every fact in this brief is linked to a source and labeled by evidence strength and scope.
S1 · U.S. EPA TRI
2024 U.S. TRI Basic Data Files, facility, parent, chemical, and management-category quantities.
Open source →S2 · U.S. SEC, Company Facts
SEC XBRL Company Facts for Kimberly-Clark Corp, CIK 0000055785.
Open source →S3 · Kimberly-Clark FY2025 results
Company year-end results release confirming FY2025 net sales of $16.447B, used to flag the workbook's revenue-field discrepancy.
Open source →S4 · Kimberly-Clark Professional, RightCycle expansion
Official release describing the RightCycle program's scope and expansion into industrial environments.
Open source →S5 · Kimberly-Clark, Forests & Biodiversity
Official fiber-sourcing page citing the ~97% FSC-certified tissue figure and 2030 Ambition targets.
Open source →Source boundary
Scope: public SEC filings, EPA 2024 TRI records, and Kimberly-Clark's own fiber-sourcing and RightCycle pages. The workbook's revenue field is flagged as a likely single-quarter figure and shown alongside the corrected FY2025 net-sales figure; TRI is listed-chemical management data with four of five management categories undisclosed for this account.